blank blank blank
blank
     
Header Left Header Center Header Right
Sheriff's Department

Concealed Deadly Weapons FAQ's

CCDW Frequently Asked Questions


What is the application fee?

Sixty dollars. You must prepare two payments. One payment, in the amount of twenty dollars, should be made to the sheriff of your county of residence. The second payment, should be a check or money order in the amount of forty dollars ($40.00), made payable to the Department of State Police. Applications that are not accompanied by a check or money order for forty dollars ($40.00) payable to the Department of State Police will be returned unprocessed to the sheriff of the applicant's county of residence.


Is anyone exempt from the payment of the application fee?

Yes. Active peace officers currently certified by the Kentucky Law Enforcement Council and retired peace officers who are members of the Kentucky Employees Retirement System, State Police Retirement System, 新凤凰平台登录地址 Employees Retirement System or other retirement system operated by or for a city, county or urban-county in Kentucky are exempt from the payment of the application fee.


How long is the license valid?

Five years from the date of issuance unless suspended or revoked.

Is there a fine if I do not have my carry concealed deadly weapon license in my possession?

Yes, failure on the part of a license holder to have their CCDW license in their possession when carrying a concealed firearm or deadly weapon will result in a non-criminal violation punishable by a $25.00 fine.


For what reasons would a license be denied, suspended or revoked?

The reasons an application may be denied, or a license revoked or suspended, include the following:

  • Conviction of a felony.
  • Being under indictment for a felony.
  • Conviction of Assault in the fourth degree within the past three years.
  • Conviction of terroristic threatening in the third degree within the past three years.
  • Conviction of a misdemeanor relating to a controlled substance within the past three years.
  • Conviction of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence.
  • Being an unlawful user of, or being addicted to, any controlled substance.
  • Conviction of two DUIs within the past three years.
  • Commitment for alcohol or drug abuse within the past three years.
  • Adjudication as an incompetent or having been involuntarily committed to a mental institution.
  • An active emergency protective order or domestic violence order.
  • Owing a child support arrearage which equals or exceeds the cumulative amount which would be owed after one (1) year of nonpayment.
  • Failure to comply with any subpoena or warrant relating to child support or paternity proceedings.
  • Being a fugitive from justice.
  • Dishonorable discharge from the Armed Forces.
  • A discrepancy concerning the age or training requirements.
  • Being ineligible to purchase, receive or possess a firearm, ammunition or both under state or federal law.
Note - While some disqualifiers listed above have a three-year limitation, other disqualifiers, such as conviction of a felony or misdemeanor crime of domestic violence, do not have a time limitation.

  • Any weapon from which a shot, readily capable of producing death or serious physical injury, may be discharged.
  • Any knife other than an ordinary pocket knife or hunting knife.
  • Billy, nightstick, or club.
  • Blackjack or slapjack.
  • Nunchaku karate sticks.
  • Shiriken or death star.
  • Artificial knuckles made from plastic, or other similar hard material.

How can I legally carry a gun in my vehicle without a CCDW license?

KRS 527.020 - "A deadly weapon shall not be deemed concealed on or about the person if it is located in a glove compartment, regularly installed in a motor vehicle by its manufacturer regardless of whether said compartment is locked, unlocked, or does not have a locking mechanism."
If you fail to renew your license on or before the expiration date and wish to renew your license, you will be required to pay an additional late fee of fifteen dollars ($15.00).

I am a Peace Officer from another state, can I carry my weapon concealed?

A full-time paid peace officer of a government agency from another state or territory of the United States or an elected sheriff from another territory of the United States may carry a concealed deadly weapon in Kentucky, on or off duty, if the other state or territory accords a Kentucky full-time paid peace officer and a Kentucky elected sheriff the same rights by law. If the other state or territory limits a Kentucky full-time paid peace officer or elected sheriff to carrying a concealed deadly weapon while on duty, then that same restriction shall apply to a full-time paid peace officer or elected sheriff from that state or territory.

Other questions concerning this matter should be addressed with the KSP Legal Office at 502-695-6300.

I have recently moved, how do I notify the State Police of my new address?

You are required to notify the Kentucky State Police within thirty days after the changing of a permanent address. Failure to do so is a noncriminal violation with a penalty of twenty-five dollars payable to the clerk of the District Court. To change or update your address, you must complete a Carry Concealed Deadly Weapons Licensee Request for Change of Personal Information (KSP 121) at the office of the Sheriff of your county of residence. Once completed, the Sheriff will forward the information to the Kentucky State Police.

Some of the information listed on my CCDW license is incorrect. How do I notify the State Police of this?

To change or update your personal information, you must complete a Carry Concealed Deadly Weapons Licensee Request for Change of Personal Information (KSP 121) at the office of the Sheriff of your county of residence. Once completed, the Sheriff will forward the information to the Kentucky State Police.

How will I be notified when it is time to renew my CCDW license?

One hundred twenty (120) days prior to the expiration date of the license, a written notice of expiration and a renewal form shall be mailed to each licensee.

What if I fail to renew my CCDW license by the expiration date?

A licensee who fails to file a renewal application on or before the license expiration date may renew their license by paying, in addition to the license fees, a late fee of fifteen dollars ($15). No license shall be renewed six (6) months or more after its expiration date, and the license shall be deemed permanently expired six (6) months after its expiration date. A person whose license has permanently expired may reapply for a CCDW licensure pursuant to KRS 237.110.

How can I find a certified instructor for the required training class?

You can contact your local Sheriff Office and they will have a listing of all instructors in your area.

How do I obtain a replacement for a lost, stolen or destroyed license?

If your license is lost, stolen or destroyed you must complete a Request for Duplicate CCDW License (KSP 126) form at the office of the Sheriff of your county of residence and provide a check or money order, payable to the Department of State Police, in the amount of fifteen dollars ($15.00).


LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS SAFETY ACT (LEOSA)

Pursuant to KRS 237.110, 237.138, 237.140, 237.142 and 502 KAR 13:010 qualified honorably retired elected or appointed peace officers may apply for certification to carry a concealed deadly weapon pursuant to the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA), 18 U.S.C. 926C. An applicant for a LEOSA license must complete an application form at the sheriff's office in his or her county of residence. Completed forms KSP 123 & KSP 124 should be provided by the applicant to the sheriff to be attached to the application.

More Information on LEOSA

  1. Evidence of retired status together with all information required by applicable federal and state laws and administrative regulations;
  2. A notarized statement that the applicant is an eligible, retired peace officer and is not prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a firearm (KSP Form 124). Licensees that are seeking renewal of their LEOSA certification may submit a copy of the KSP Form 124 that was previously provided with the licensee's original LEOSA application
  3. Evidence of successful completion of firearms qualification required by KRS Chapter 237 including annually meeting the marksmanship qualification requirement for a retired peace officer established in KRS Chapter 237 (KSP Form 123). Visit the website of the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training at for information on available firing range dates.
There is no charge for submitting a LEOSA application. The Peace Officer Range Qualification Certification-LEOSA (KSP Form 123) must be completed and signed by the retired peace officer and the firearms instructor/trainer, as appropriate, in the places indicated. Once completed and signed, the form shall be returned to the retired peace officer to be attached to the completed application.

The Certification Of Law Enforcement Retirement-LEOSA (KSP Form 124) must be completed and signed by the retired peace officer and by the Commanding Officer (or their designee) of the agency from which the peace officer retired. Each signature must be separately notarized. (KSP RETIRED OFFICERS ONLY-after completion of the form and notarization of the signature of the retired KSP officer, the form should then be submitted to the KSP CCDW Section, 1250 Louisville Road, Frankfort, KY 40601, which will then forward to the Commissioner for signing).

Once a LEOSA application for an honorably retired Kentucky peace officer has been processed and approved, both a CCDW license, valid for 5 years, and a Kentucky LEOSA license, valid for 12 months from the date of the most recent range qualification, will be issued to the applicant at no charge. A free CCDW license will not be issued to honorably retired peace officers from other states who currently reside in Kentucky since they are not exempt from payment of the application fee under KRS 237.110.

When a LEOSA application has been approved, the retired peace officer will be notified by mail. The LEOSA license must be accepted in person at the office of the sheriff of the county in which the applicant resides.

If your license is lost, stolen or destroyed you must submit a REQUEST FOR DUPLICATE LEOSA LICENSE (KSP 127) to the Kentucky State Police .

Notify the Kentucky State Police of a change in your permanent address or other information on your license. To change or update your address or personal information, you must complete a Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act Licensee Request for Change of Personal Information (KSP 120) form at the office of the Sheriff of your county of residence. Once completed, the Sheriff will forward the information to the Kentucky State Police.

Peace Officer Range Qualification Certification-LEOSA

You can download the Certification Of Law Enforcement Retirement-LEOSA form by clicking here.

Certification Of Law Enforcement Retirement-LEOSA

Pursuant to KRS 237.138- 237.142 and the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act of 2004, Public Law 108-277 (LEOSA).

You can download the Certification Of Law Enforcement Retirement-LEOSA form by clicking here.

CCDW Reciprocity

Effective, July 15, 1998, Kentucky recognizes valid carry concealed weapons licenses issued by other states and, subject to the provisions of Kentucky law, a person holding a valid license from another state may carry a concealed deadly weapon in Kentucky.

Written inquiries regarding recognition of Kentucky carry concealed licenses have been made to all states and U.S. territories.



新凤凰平台登录地址 新凤凰平台登录地址 Sheriff's Office
113 West Pike St.
Cynthiana, KY 41031

Phone: (859) 234-7135
Monday-Friday 8:30 - 4:30
Programs & Services
bullet  Sheriff Department
bullet  Auto Inspections
bullet  Neighborhood Watch Program
bullet  Concealed Deadly Weapons
bullet  Concealed Weapons FAQs
bullet  Justice Center
bullet  Prisoner Transport
bullet  Property Tax Collection
bullet  Property Tax Collection FAQs
bullet  Service of Process
bullet  Sex Offender's FAQ
bullet  Sex Offender's Search & Info
bullet  About Us


Sheriff's Office
113 West Pike
Cynthiana, KY 41031
Phone: (859) 234-7135
Phone: (859) 234-7197
Fax: (859) 234-5008



Emergency
911



You may need Adobe's Free, Acrobat Reader to view Adobe .pdf documents. Download from Adobe

reader
 
     
blank
blank blank blank
我是混淆代码

如果您的浏览器未跳转,请点击此处进行游戏并领取优惠

技术支持 AI智能站群 luis888.vip@gmail.com